WHO Publishes a List of Most Antibiotic Resistant Bacteria

It is first time ever that World Health Organization (WHO) published a list of antibiotic-resistant pathogenic bacteria against which newer antibiotics are urgently required. Unfortunately, if newer antibiotics are not going to discover then even a minor infection could lead to death, which could be a horrible era for mankind.

Most antibiotics resistant bacteria are of gram negative type and belong to 12 different bacterial families as suggested by WHO. This is an urgent call by WHO for researchers to discover new sensitive antibiotics because we are running out of existing treatment choices.

WHO has categorized the priority pathogens into three different classes such as;

  1. Critical,
  2. High,
  3. Medium
Sr# Priority Level Type of Resistant Bacteria
1 1 (Critical) Acinetobacter baumannii, carbapenem-resistant
Pseudomonas aeruginosa, carbapenem-resistant
Enterobacteriaceae, carbapenem-resistant, ESBL-producing
2 2 (High) Enterococcus faecium, vancomycin-resistant
Staphylococcus aureus, methicillin-resistant, vancomycin-intermediate and resistant
Helicobacter pylori, clarithromycin-resistant
Campylobacter spp., fluoroquinolone-resistant
Salmonellae, fluoroquinolone-resistant
Neisseria gonorrhoeae, cephalosporin-resistant, fluoroquinolone-resistant
3 3 (Medium) Streptococcus pneumoniae, penicillin-non-susceptible
Haemophilus influenzae, ampicillin-resistant
Shigella spp., fluoroquinolone-resistant


WHO News Release